Accept The Struggle

Renee Ngo
2 min readMay 9, 2021

--

I committed myself to doing a 10-week workout program to challenge myself.

It’s so hard that during every single workout, I think of quitting.

On one particularly hot and humid Sunday morning, I was doing a 1-hour full body workout and I was STRUGGLING.

.

Halfway through this workout I thought of quitting again. “Can I endure 30 minutes more of this sh*t? And most importantly, do I want to?”

Then another thought struck me..Why do I want to quit?

Because I am struggling?

Well honey, I am supposed to be struggling! That’s why I am doing this workout. I wanted to challenge myself.

It’s not supposed to be easy peasy. I’m not supposed to just cruise through this workout without a sweat.

That’s not going to challenge me, it’s not going to help me grow and learn, and get stronger.

.

I got reminded that…

It’s supposed to be hard so I’ll get stronger.

I’m supposed to struggle so I’ll strive do better.

It’s supposed to hurt so I can heal.

It’s supposed to be heavy so I can lift off.

.

I realized that when you accept the struggle, you stop focusing on it and just deal with it. You stop focusing on how hard it is and how you want to quit.

You put all your efforts on working on it, pushing through until..

Until you get better, faster, stronger and it’s not longer as hard. You’re no longer struggling but THRIVING.

Then.. that’s when we do it all over again.

We struggle, we work, we push and we thrive.

--

--